Word From the Assistant Director

Located at Almadies, in a quiet neighborhood of Dakar, the "West African College of the Atlantic" (WACA) is an international bilingual, mixed and non-denominational school, which opened in September 1996. The institution has about two hundred students and has the ambition to offer its students a bilingual education firmly placed in an international perspective.

Its goal is to prepare students for successful social and professional integration by providing them with the means to become responsible citizens by learning the individual and collective responsibility. Based on bilingualism and its international vocation, the school promotes a conscious philosophy to educate for peace, understanding between peoples, tolerance and respect for human rights and duties. The student WACA is a "citizen of the world" which, without denying its own culture, open to other cultures, accept that the other is different while exalting diversity that enriches life. The spirit of the school also emphasizes the values ​​undoubtedly shared by all peace loving societies and justice.

Accredited by the Ministry of Education of Senegal and affiliated in 2000 to the International Baccalaureate Organization, based in Geneva, WACA exemption from the sixth to the Terminal, teachings based on the Senegalese program reinforced by elements of international programs . The program will address to students aged 11 to 19 years and is taught in English and French. The bilingual International Baccalaureate Diploma provides access to the best universities in the world.

Since 2002, five promotions of BI are divided among universities in the following countries: Canada, France, Holland, Italy, United Kingdom, Senegal, Switzerland, Tunisia, USA The "world citizens" from WACA are well equipped to understand their own history, their own culture and to appreciate the traditions of other peoples and other countries and share knowledge.

Mot de la Directrice Adjointe

Situé aux Almadies, dans un quartier paisible de Dakar, le « West African College of the Atlantic » (W.A.C.A) est un lycée international bilingue, mixte et non confessionnel, qui a ouvert ses portes en septembre 1996. L’institution compte environ deux cents élèves et a l’ambition d’offrir à ses étudiants une éducation bilingue résolument placée dans une perspective internationale.

Son objectif est de préparer ses élèves à une insertion sociale et professionnelle réussie, en leur offrant les moyens de devenir des citoyens responsables grâce à l’apprentissage de la responsabilité individuelle et collective. S’appuyant sur le bilinguisme et à sa vocation internationale, le lycée prône une philosophie soucieuse d’éduquer à la paix, à la compréhension entre les peuples, à la tolérance et au respect des droits et devoirs humains. L’étudiant de WACA est un « citoyen du monde » qui, sans renier sa propre culture, s’ouvre aux autres cultures, accepte que l’autre soit différent tout en exaltant la diversité qui fait la richesse de la vie. L’esprit de l’école met également en relief les valeurs que partagent incontestablement toutes les sociétés éprises de paix et de justice.

Agrée par le Ministère de l’Education Nationale du Sénégal et affilié en 2000 à l’Organisation du Baccalauréat International, sise à Genève, WACA dispense de la sixième à la Terminale, un enseignement basé sur le programme sénégalais renforcé par des éléments de programmes internationaux. Le programme s’adresse à des élèves âgés de 11 à 19 ans et est enseigné en anglais et en français. Le diplôme bilingue du Baccalauréat International donne accès aux meilleures universités du monde.

Depuis 2002, cinq promotions du B.I. sont réparties entre des universités des pays suivants : Canada, France, Hollande, Italie, Royaume-Uni, Sénégal, Suisse, Tunisie, U.S.A. Les « citoyens du monde » issus de WACA, sont bien outillés pour comprendre leur propre histoire, leur propre culture et pour apprécier les traditions d’autres peuples et d’autres pays et de savoir partager.